Use data for action – 5th webinar in a series on Transforming care for small and sick newborns

Use data for action – 5th webinar in a series on Transforming care for small and sick newborns

by
45 45 people viewed this event.

Wednesday 1 July, 2020 – two sessions at 8 am and 11 am GMT

While data quantity and quality varies, each country has data that can be used now to drive action and accelerate progress towards mortality targets. This webinar will review the opportunities to improve birth and newborn data quality and availability through routine health information management systems. It will look into what needs to be done to close the gaps in high-priority data to end preventable deaths (survive), ensure health and well-being (thrive) and change how small and sick newborns are cared for (transform).

In addition, speakers will share the experience of Malawi in developing a national routine reporting system for facility-based kangaroo mother care and talk about the type of data that is needed to support family-centered care (8 am GMT session).

They will also present Namibia’s experience of Maternal and Perinatal Death Surveillance and Response (MPDSR) to continuously identify, register and report the cause of every maternal and newborn death, as well as an example of real-time monitoring of a newborn care unit in India (11 am GMT session).

The webinar will also address the importance of collecting data to measure the indirect effects of COVID-19 on newborns.

There will be time for Q & A.

SESSION 1: 8 am Accra Time (GMT), 10 am Geneva (CEST), 11 am Addis Ababa (EAT), 4 am New York (EDT), 1.30 pm New Delhi (IST) – duration: 1 hour

Presenters:

  • Dr. Louise Tina Day will present key findings of ‘Use data for action’, the 5th chapter in the Survive and Thrive: transforming care for every small and sick newborn report. Dr. Day is a paediatrician/obstetrician and Assistant Professor at the London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine.
  • Mr. Kondwani Chavula from Save the Children Malawi country office will share Malawi’s experience of developing a reporting system for facility-based kangaroo mother care will also be shared.  He is an M&E specialist.
  • Ms. Silke Mader will present thee type of data required to measure the impact of family-centered care on newborns. She is Chairwoman of the Executive Board and co-founder of the European Foundation for the Care of Newborn Infants
  • Dr. Ornella Lincetto will talk about data to measure the indirect effects of COVID-19 on newborns. Dr. Lincetto is a paediatrician and neonatologist, currently Senior Medical Officer for Newborn Health, World Health Organization in Geneva, and a lead editor of the report.

Facilitator: Dr. Ornella Lincetto, Senior Medical Officer for Newborn Health, World Health Organization.

SESSION 2: 11 am Accra Time (GMT), 1 pm Geneva (CEST), 2pm Addis Ababa (EAT), 7 am New York (EDT), 4.30 pm New Delhi (IST) – duration: 1 hour

Presenters:

  • Dr. Louise Tina Day will present key findings of ‘Use data for action’, the 5th chapter in the Survive and Thrive: transforming care for every small and sick newborn report. Dr. Day is a paediatrician/obstetrician and Assistant Professor at the London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine.
  • Dr. Gagan Gupta will talk about the use of data for accountability and action in a network of  Sick Newborn Care Units in India. Dr. Gupta is a Health Specialist at UNICEF.
  • Dr. Alexander Manu will share how Namibia’s Maternal and Perinatal Death Surveillance and Response system helps reduce preventable newborn deaths. Dr. Manu is a Senior Clinical Research Associate at the Centre for Maternal and Newborn Health, Liverpool School of Tropical Medicine.
  • Dr. Ornella Lincetto will talk about data to measure the indirect effects of COVID-19 on newborns. Dr. Lincetto is a paediatrician and neonatologist, currently Senior Medical Officer for Newborn Health, World Health Organization in Geneva, and a lead editor of the report.

Facilitator: Dr. Gagan Gupta, Health Specialist, Maternal and Newborn Health, UNICEF.

This is the 5th webinar in a series organized by the World Health Organization and UNICEF on Transforming Care for Small and Sick Newborns, in collaboration with the Network for Improving Quality of Care for Maternal, Newborn and Child Health. Experts on neonatal health will present the findings of the Survive and Thrive: transforming care for every small and sick newborn report, share country experiences, and introduce the World Health Organization’s new standards of care for small and sick newborns. See the whole series.

 

Date

01-07-2020 to
01-07-2020
 

Location

 

Event Types

 

Event Category

Share With Friends